Plan Your Visit Open: Wed-Sun 1p-4p
Plan Your Visit Close Planner

Griswold Trophy

Griswold Trophy

Becky and Alan Jones donated the Jim Griswold Award Trophy (shown above right) to the Museum. The award was given annually to a Central New York Balloon Club member who was most responsible for organizing and insuring the success of the Jamesville Balloon Festival.

It was named the Jim Griswold Award in 1992, in honor of the late James A. Griswold, who was considered the most popular and respected balloonist in Central New York. The trophy was built by David Longeill in 1988, hand made of solid wood.  The base of the trophy bears the pins representing the various balloons that flew in the event.

Becky Jones was the last recipient of the award in the year 2000. The plaque on the left bears the names of each year’s winners, as listed below:

1988 – Jim Griswold
1989 – Berian Elwell
1990 – Steve Labarge
1991 – Jim Griswold
1992 – Bill Gottschall & Bob Hanna
1993 – Alan Jones
1994 – Debbie Harrington
1995 – Bill Gottschall
1996 – Steve Labarge
1997 – Peter Griswold
1998 – Onondaga County Parks
1999 – Georgia Peach
2000 – Becky Jones