Plan Your Visit Open today: Closed January and February
Plan Your Visit Close Planner

U.S. Hot Air Balloon Pilot Champions

U.S. Hot Air Balloon Pilot Champions


YEAR             CHAMPION               LOCATION
1963                Dick Pollard                Kalamazoo, Michigan
1964                Jimmie Craig               Reno, Nevada
1965                Jimmie Craig               Reno, Nevada
1966                George Craig               Reno, Nevada
1967                No Championship Held
1968                No Championship Held
1969                No Championship Held
1970                Frank Pritchard           Indianola/Des Moines, Iowa
1971                Dennis Floden             Indianola, Iowa
1972                Bruce Comstock         Indianola, Iowa
1973                Tom Gabel                  Indianola, Iowa
1974                Charles Ehrler             Indianola, Iowa
1975                David Medema           Indianola, Iowa
1976                Bruce Comstock         Indianola, Iowa
1977                Bruce Comstock         Indianola, Iowa
1978                Sid Cutter                    Indianola, Iowa
1979                Bruce Comstock         Indianola, Iowa
1980                Steve Jones                 Indianola, Iowa
1981                David Schaffer            Indianola, Iowa
1982                Bruce Comstock         Indianola, Iowa
1983                Owen Keown              Indianola, Iowa
1984                Al Nels                        Indianola, Iowa
1985                Al Nels                        Indianola, Iowa
1986                Sid Cutter                    Indianola, Iowa
1987                Bruce Comstock         Indianola, Iowa
1988                Rob Bartholomew       Indianola, Iowa
1989                David Levin                Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1990                Steve Jones                 Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1991                Jeff Menchhofer          Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1992                Joe Heartsill                Middletown, Ohio
1993                Harold Cliver              Middletown, Ohio
1994                Phil Glebe                   Middletown, Ohio
1995                Pat Cannon                 Columbia, Missouri
1996                Harold Cliver              Columbia, Missouri
1997                Joe Heartsill                Columbia, Missouri
1998                Johnny Petrehn           Rantoul, Illinois
1999                Joe Heartsill                Rantoul, Illinois
2000                No Championship Held
2001                Nicholas A. Donner    Anderson, South Carolina
2002                Brian Beazly               Anderson, South Carolina
2003                Nicholas A. Donner    Anderson, South Carolina
2004                Paul Petrehn                Anderson, South Carolina
2005                Paul Petrehn                Anderson, South Carolina
2006                Pat Cannon                 Anderson, South Carolina
2007                Joe Heartsill                Waco, Texas
2008                Joe Heartsill                Anderson, South Carolina
2009                Nicholas A. Donner    Battle Creek, Michigan
2010                Nicholas A. Donner    Battle Creek, Michigan

2011                Nicholas A. Donner    Battle Creek, Michigan

2012                Chase Donner             Longview, Texas

2013                Paul Petrehn                Longview, Texas

2014                John Petrehn               Longview, Texas

2015                John Petrehn               Longview, Texas

2016                Rhett Heartsill             Schreveport-Bossier, Louisiana

To downlaod a Printable PDF file of this list please click here.