You are here: Exhibits » U. S. Hot Air Balloon Pilot Champions   Login
U. S. National Hot Air Balloon Championship Pilots

This exhibit shows the pilots who have won the U. S. National Hot Air Balloon Championships since they began in 1963. 
Some of the pilots have one more than one year, but their picture appears only once on the Winners Wall. 
See the detailed list below.


YEAR           CHAMPION                        LOCATION
1963--------- Dick Pollard----------------- Kalamazoo, Michigan
1964--------- Jimmie Craig---------------- Reno, Nevada
1965--------- Jimmie Craig---------------- Reno, Nevada
1966--------- George Craig----------------Reno, Nevada
1967--------- No Championship Held
1968--------- No Championship Held
1969--------- No Championship Held
1970--------- Frank Pritchard------------- Indianola/Des Moines, Iowa
1971--------- Dennis Floden---------------Indianola, Iowa
1972--------- Bruce Comstock------------ Indianola, Iowa
1973--------- Tom Gabel------------------ Indianola, Iowa
1974--------- Charles Ehrler---------------Indianola, Iowa
1975--------- David Medema--------------Indianola, Iowa
1976--------- Bruce Comstock------------ Indianola, Iowa
1977--------- Bruce Comstock------------ Indianola, Iowa
1978--------- Sid Cutter--------------------Indianola, Iowa
1979--------- Bruce Comstock------------ Indianola, Iowa
1980--------- Steve Jones----------------- Indianola, Iowa
1981--------- David Schaffer-------------- Indianola, Iowa
1982--------- Bruce Comstock------------ Indianola, Iowa
1983--------- Owen Keown----------------Indianola, Iowa
1984--------- Al Nels----------------------- Indianola, Iowa
1985--------- Al Nels----------------------- Indianola, Iowa
1986--------- Sid Cutter------------------- Indianola, Iowa
1987--------- Bruce Comstock------------ Indianola, Iowa
1988--------- Rob Bartholomew---------- Indianola, Iowa
1989--------- David Levin------------------Baton Route, Louisiana
1990--------- Steve Jones----------------- Baton Route, Louisiana
1991--------- Jeff Menchhofer-------------Baton Route, Louisiana
1992--------- Joe Heartsill----------------- Middletown, Ohio
1993--------- Harold Cliver---------------- Middletown, Ohio
1994--------- Phil Glebe------------------- Middletown, Ohio
1995--------- Pat Cannon------------------Columbia, Missouri
1996--------- Harold Cliver----------------Columbia, Missouri
1997--------- Joe Heartsill-----------------Columbia, Missouri
1998--------- Johnny Petrehn-------------Rantoul, Illinois
1999--------- Joe Heartsill-----------------Rantoul, Illinois
2000--------- No Championship Held
2001--------- Nicholas A. Donner-------- Anderson, South Carolina
2002--------- Brian Beazly-----------------Anderson, South Carolina
2003--------- Nicholas A. Donner-------- Anderson, South Carolina
2004--------- Paul Petrehn----------------Anderson, South Carolina
2005--------- Paul Petrehn----------------Anderson, South Carolina
2006--------- Pat Cannon------------------Anderson, South Carolina
2007--------- Joe Heartsill-----------------Waco, Texas
2008--------- Joe Heartsill-----------------Anderson, South Carolina
2009--------- Nicholas A. Donner-------- Battle Creek, Michigan
2010--------- Nicholas A. Donner-------- Battle Creek, Michigan

To downlaod a Printable PDF file of this list please Click Here.

Museum Hours
Regular Hours

Open Wed - Sun 1-4 p.m.  Closed Mon-Tues.

Mornings by appointment only.

Closed December 24, 25 and 26, and the months of January & February
Closed all major holidays, Easter, Mother's Day and Father's Day

For information on holidays observed and additional hours by request, visit our Visitor Info page.

National Balloon Museum and Ballooning Hall of Fame | 1601 N. Jefferson Way (Highway 65/69 North) | P.O. Box 149, Indianola, IA 50125-0149
Phone: (515) 961-3714 | Email:

Terms Of Use  |  Privacy Statement
Home  |  About Us  |  Exhibits  |  Hall of Fame  |  Special Features  |  News  |  Videos  |  Donate  |  Links  |  Tour Groups
Copyright 2015 by National Balloon Museum